Save the Dunes Welcomes New Board Members, Awards Honors

Save the Dunes, one of Northwest Indiana’s oldest environmental organizations, held its Annual Membership Meeting in December to celebrate the year’s accomplishments, elect new board members, and present its highest honors. The Paul H. Douglas Memorial Award – given in recognition of the late Illinois senator for his contributions to establish the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore, now Park – was presented to long-time Indiana Dunes National Park interpreter/educator, Kim Swift. The recipient of the Dorothy Buell Environmental Youth Award, named in honor of Save the Dunes’ founder, was Boy Scout Troop 65 for their environmental partnership work. Here’s a link for more details at the Save the Dunes Facebook page, and here’s a link to their website, , for more information about Save the Dunes.