Winter Weather Advisory For La Porte County Wednesday Through Friday

National Weather Service Northern Indiana
306 PM EST Tue Jan 2 2018

INZ003>005-030800-
/O.NEW.KIWX.WC.Y.0001.180102T2200Z-180103T1400Z/
/O.CON.KIWX.WW.Y.0001.180103T2100Z-180105T1200Z/
La Porte-St. Joseph IN-Elkhart-
Including the cities of Michigan City, La Porte, South Bend,
Mishawaka, New Carlisle, Walkerton, Elkhart, Goshen, and Nappanee
306 PM EST Tue Jan 2 2018 /206 PM CST Tue Jan 2 2018/

...WIND CHILL ADVISORY IN EFFECT UNTIL 9 AM EST /8 AM CST/
WEDNESDAY...
...WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 4 PM EST /3 PM
CST/ WEDNESDAY TO 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ FRIDAY...

* WHAT...Lake effect snow expected. Very cold wind chills
  expected. Plan on difficult travel conditions, including during
  the morning commute on Thursday. Total snow accumulations of 4
  to 8 inches, with localized amounts up to 1 foot, are expected.
  Expect wind chills to range from 5 below zero to 20 below zero.

* WHERE...La Porte, St. Joseph IN and Elkhart Counties.

* WHEN...For the Winter Weather Advisory, from 4 PM EST /3 PM
  CST/ Wednesday to 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ Friday. For the Wind
  Chill Advisory, until 9 AM EST /8 AM CST/ Wednesday.

* ADDITIONAL DETAILS...Be prepared for reduced visibilities at
  times. The cold wind chills will cause frostbite in as little
  as 30 minutes to exposed skin.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A Winter Weather Advisory for lake effect snow means lake effect
snow is forecast that will make travel difficult in some areas.
Use caution when traveling.

A Wind Chill Advisory means that cold air and the wind will
combine to create low wind chills. Frost bite and hypothermia can
occur if precautions are not taken. Make sure you wear a hat and
gloves.