Winter Weather Advisory Issued For Porter & La Porte Counties

URGENT - WINTER WEATHER MESSAGE
National Weather Service Chicago IL
1018 AM CST Wed Jan 3 2018

INZ002-040030-
/O.CON.KLOT.WW.Y.0001.180104T0000Z-180105T0600Z/
Porter-
Including the city of Valparaiso
1018 AM CST Wed Jan 3 2018

...WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 6 PM THIS
EVENING TO MIDNIGHT CST THURSDAY NIGHT...

* WHAT...Lake effect snow showers are expected. Plan on slippery
  road conditions, including during the morning commute on
  Thursday. Total snow accumulations of 2 to 5 inches, with the
  highest amounts across northeastern portions of the county.

* WHERE...Porter County.

* WHEN...From 6 PM this evening to midnight CST Thursday night.

* ADDITIONAL DETAILS...Due to the showery nature of the lake
  effect snow, snow amounts are likely to vary significantly
  across the county. While 2 to 5 inches are forecast across
  northeastern Porter, little or no snow is possible across
  southwestern portions of the county. Therefore, if travel is
  planed across the county, be prepared to encounter areas of
  reduced visibilities at times. In addition to the snow, cold
  wind chills as low as 15 below to 20 below zero will cause
  frostbite in as little as 30 minutes to exposed skin.
INZ003>005-032100-
/O.CON.KIWX.WW.Y.0001.180103T2100Z-180105T1200Z/
La Porte-St. Joseph IN-Elkhart-
Including the cities of Michigan City, La Porte, South Bend,
Mishawaka, New Carlisle, Walkerton, Elkhart, Goshen, and Nappanee
1036 AM EST Wed Jan 3 2018 /936 AM CST Wed Jan 3 2018/

...WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 4 PM EST /3 PM
CST/ THIS AFTERNOON TO 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ FRIDAY...

* WHAT...Lake effect snow expected. Plan on difficult travel
  conditions, including during the morning and evening commutes
  on Thursday. Total snow accumulations of 4 to 8 inches, with
  localized amounts up to 12 inches, are expected.

* WHERE...La Porte, St. Joseph IN and Elkhart Counties.

* WHEN...From 4 PM EST /3 PM CST/ this afternoon to 7 AM EST /6
  AM CST/ Friday.

* ADDITIONAL DETAILS...Be prepared for reduced visibilities at
  times. Cold wind chills as low as 15 below zero will cause
  frostbite in as little as 30 minutes to exposed skin.
PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS... 
A Winter Weather Advisory for snow means periods of snow will cause primarily travel difficulties. Be prepared for snow covered roads and limited visibilities, and use caution while driving.